jump to navigation

Comments»

1. Dwayne Day - January 17, 2012

Re Delta’s on display: There is a Delta III upper stage on display at the Discovery Science Center in Anaheim. It is visible on the I-5 when going north or south. I believe that the rest of that vehicle is in storage and that there is an effort to restore it being organized by retired Boeing engineers.

ciholmer - January 18, 2012

There is also a Thor Delta and a Delta Payload shroud on display at the Goddard Space Flight Center rocket garden – http://www.nasa.gov/centers/goddard/visitor/exhibits/rocket_garden.html

>> Douglas Aircraft/Aerojet/ABL Delta-B Satellite Launch Vehicle (Thor Delta) This rocket used the reliable Thor ballistic missile as a first stage. This was topped by an improved second and third stage from the Vanguard launch vehicle (the “Delta” stages).

Delta Payload Shroud This unit protected the third stage and payload of the Thor Able and Delta B model vehicles from mechanical and heating damage during launch.
<<

Picture of the Thor Delta in early morning light – http://www.flickr.com/photos/ciholmer/5544786903/in/set-72157626312294442/

2. Dwayne Day - January 17, 2012

David, you need to get a cover for your microphone or kill your mic when the guest is talking. I was listening to the show on headphones this evening and could hear you eating… Chomp chomp chomp…

The Space Show - January 17, 2012

As I said in my private note to you Dwayne, I do not ever eat during a show. My mic is a professional boom mic with a huge cover on it. One caller was breathing into the phone and since he was on the line for perhaps 10 minutes, it was fairly obnoxious. I don’t know what you heard but it was not eating, that’s for sure.

As for a Delta 3 in S. California, I have not been to the Discovery Science Center in Anaheim but will check it out the next time I am in the area. I’ve been to lots of rocket gardens around the country and have not seen a Delta vehicle but I am glad to know that some do exist. Thanks for the heads up on.

For any callers reading this note, I have had the breathing into the phone problem called to my attention before by other listeners. Be advised that I am going to kill a listener call if there is audible breathing into the phone. Listeners, when you call the show, have some awareness of what you are doing. I know it happens sometimes and cannot be avoided but it does happen all too often and I have not been calling you out on it which I will do from now on. And please, no eating when you call the show though I do know of anyone having ever done that.

David

3. Anonymouse - January 16, 2012

Leave a Reply

